Posted by: Karen | October 21, 2015

New Job, New Bike Commute

Here’s a first: This year I took the summer off from bike commuting. I was given half the summer off work due to downsizing, and at my new job I’ve been working at a location out of bike range due to office renovations.

This week I’m working back within bike range. The weather today was  incredibly gorgeous for late October. I rode my bike 8 kilometers to the new workplace for the first time, and I really enjoyed it.

The new route to the close-enough office involved some route finding and a trial run to make sure I’m okay with the traffic volume. I used an old stand-by site, gmap-pedometer to plan my way. On Thanksgiving Monday I rode one of the options to the office and back to try it out – it was very hilly. I went back to the online map and plotted a route with different hills. I drove parts of it, to understand how busy the traffic was and how many parked cars might make me slow down buses and car commuters.

Today’s route involved a climb at the start, but then it was mostly gentle descents on quiet side streets, and I didn’t get lost in the dark. It’s very dark at 7:30 am this time of year in Calgary. The commute home obviously involved climbing, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought. I did some exploring when I inadvertently turned off the planned route, but it didn’t add much elevation or distance. I’ll keep that way in mind as an alternate route.

For 2015, I believe this is bike commute #63. I won’t be doing this every workday to start (I’m a little out of shape), but I’m looking forward to seeing how many more I can accomplish by the end of the year. I don’t know how snow and ice will affect the route, but I’ll find out soon enough.

 

Responses

  1. For the record, I made it to 75 bike commutes in 2015. I’m looking forward to more 2016!


Categories

