Posted by: Karen | January 3, 2015

2015: My Return to the 10k

My New Year’s Resolution for 2015 is to “Race a 10k”, which means committing to training and registering for road races, setting a benchmark, and then pushing myself to improve on it. I haven’t done any of that for a while. A personal best finish time would be nice, but I’ll live with what I can accomplish in a healthy manner, whatever that is.

My commitment to Swim club takes me until the end of May, with four possible swim times per week (Mon/Weds/Fri/Sun), of which I’m mostly okay with missing one per week. With the commitment to swimming (I paid for the whole season), maybe I need to consider an olympic distance triathlon training plan? I realize this could sway me back into triathlon craziness, but I think I’ll have time this summer for one or two of those. Maybe the swim training can change my bad attitude towards multi-sport racing.

To do 10k race training justice, I’m assuming I’ll need at least three runs a week. I can fairly easily commit to Tuesday evening and Saturday morning runs, as that’s basically what I’ve been doing lately. I assume I would have to run Thursdays as well, but am reluctant to fill up all my week night evenings with workouts, so maybe that would be a light jog Thursday mornings or at lunch. Wednesday night swim workouts are 90 minutes long as opposed to Mondays and Fridays, which are only an hour, so I’m more likely to work in a Thursday run if I keep it light.

I will be re-acquainting myself with my Garmin, a log, and this blog. Feel free to chime in with training plan suggestions or questions.

The five remaining club XC races on my schedule will count as my Saturday runs those weekends, especially if I’m sticking to the 8k distances. I am not likely to work in bike/spin workouts on top of bike commuting until after swim club finishes in May. There will be a 3-week taper of all exercise during a Mexican vacation at Easter.

Calgary buddies, which local 10k races and triathlons are you aiming for this year? I will likely run The Original St. Patrick’s Day as a benchmark, but am open to suggestions.

Categories

