Posted by: Karen | March 16, 2014

VolunCHEERing

Frozen Ass 50k

Monday, February 17 was the Family Day holiday here in Alberta. I and my running buddy had registered for Gord’s Frozen Ass 50k race that day, but I did not race in hopes of resting the sore foot. The running buddy was struggling with a minor injury as well, so he opted for the 25k distance (the 50k is a double out-and-back course).

<3

I’m not one to sit at home and sulk while friends race. My daughter and I heartily cheered on several runners on at a couple of places along the route. We chalked encouraging messages on the path, and offered the running buddy a beer as he ran by (he declined).

Before and during the race we also got to meet and cheer fellow #CMSForeRunner Michelle, who finished her first 50k race. Way to go Michelle – what a wonderful accomplishment!

Original St. Patrick’s Day 5k & 10k 

Since the foot is so consistently cranky, I resolved not to enter any more races until it’s better. Still, I’m more than healthy enough to volunteer, so my daughter and I signed up to be course marshals. We were assigned a fabulous spot, at the north end of a pedestrian bridge, where racers of both distances ran past us first one way, and then back another, with the longer route converging with the shorter one right where we stood on their way back.

We had a blast. We had dressed up in bright green silly stuff, to make the racers smile. We shook noise makers and hollered encouragement. We shouted RACERS THIS WAY when one of our bibbed racers tried to follow a regular training runner the wrong way. We slapped high fives and smiled back at “thank yous”. We especially cheered on Leana, #CMSForerunner Tina, and Dawn.

My favourite post-race food was a mint chocolate chip scone. Check out all the fun we had in the photobooth at the after party!

Categories

