Posted by: Karen | October 20, 2013

Robert Hamilton Memorial Race 40th Anniversary

This year’s RHMR 10 and 5 miler was not much different than the last few years. Last year it snowed during the race, this year it didn’t. This year our course was a straight out and back along the north side of the river from Edworthy Park to just past Centre Street and back, with no river crossings and no potential for getting lost in Prince’s Island Park. The route allowed for less course marshals and less course markers – very efficient, yet the river path is still quite scenic. I doesn’t matter how many times I run there, I still like it.

I had a good race at the back of the pack. There were not a lot of registrants this year, but I kept a couple runners in sight, and I think I set a personal best by a minute or two for the 10 mile distance.

Our race directors ordered lovely, hefty, handsome medals for all participants, in celebration of the 40th anniversary. This is one of Calgary’s longest running races, and it is very much part of our club heritage. The organizers ordered socks too, as has been the tradition instead of t-shirts for several years, but they’ve been delayed by customs for some silly reason. I’m looking forward to my new socks when they eventually arrive.

Categories

