Posted by: Karen | May 5, 2011

Still Here

Just a quick note to say I’m still here, I just (obviously) haven’t been blogging lately. I owe the blog some race reports eventually, but here’s a quick catch-up summary, just for the record.

Running
Yes, I did complete my 60th XC Grand Prix race in a row at Nose Hill Park in February.  I also completed the rest of the season’s races, to bring my streak to 63 consecutive races. At 10 races per year that means I should be able to reach a total of 100 consecutive races in less than 4 years.  I think I can, I think I can…

I have a couple of trail races I’m training for later this year – the Moose Mountain 29k and the 5 Peaks Devon race. I might do a couple of other 5 Peaks races, like perhaps Sundre or Camrose, but I haven’t signed up yet. I might do a leg of the K-100 Relay too, as I believe I’m up for those kinds of distance this year.

Volunteering
I am also looking forward to volunteering at the Banff-Calgary Relay again in June. I’ve really enjoyed that in the past and it’s becoming a pleasant tradition.

New Pet
In other news, we adopted a cat from the Meow Foundation, and she’s settling in nicely. She’s kind of a diva in that she’s picky about her food and prefers fresh water from a dripping tap, but we are enjoying her playfulness and she even deigns to cuddle once in a while.

Knitting
My knitting is coming along very, very slowly, as I recently purchased an iPhone and the apps have been very distracting. I have managed to knit a pair of socks and two simple hats since January.

Bike Commuting
Now that spring is finally here, I’m back to bike commuting. I haven’t set any goals for the season (like last year’s 100, where I made it to 108), but I hope to achieve something similar. I have a snazzy new bright orange jacket, so I’m feeling extra-visible out there now. So far I have ridden in to work 3 days last week and tomorrow will be 3 days this week, for a total of 6 in 2011.

Tomorrow is Bike to Work day in Calgary, so I’m looking forward to seeing lots of bike commuters. I might even ride in early and enjoy some pancakes at Eau Claire before work.

Categories

