Posted by: Karen | November 25, 2010

Winter Cycling Reticence

Calgary has some very dedicated cyclists. I am amazed by the bike commuters I see working their way past my bus stop to the pathway, over snow and in frigid temperatures I haven’t brought myself to endure on a bike.

Ice Jam near Calgary Pathway

Ice Jam near Calgary Pathway

This article (Go read it. I’ll wait.) about an incident on “my” river-side pathway route reinforces my desire to postpone my attempt at winter cycling a little longer. I miss my bike commute, but not enough to jeopardize my safety by riding along dark, slippery pathways that might dump me in the river.

I miss my bike commute, but not enough to wade through the mashed-potato snow covering the quiet residential streets I I’ve used instead of riverside pathways.

I miss my bike commute, but not enough to equip myself with enough cold weather gear to insulate me in anything much colder than -10°C. I’ll RUN in -15 to -20°C weather (I enjoyed 2 runs last week in -18°C). I’m just not up to riding my bike in it yet.

I’m fine with taking the bus in really cold, messy weather. I’ll bike commute when it’s fun and healthy. If it’s not, I won’t.

Responses

  1. Wise decision. I agree. Don’t want to loose you!

  2. Merry Christmas, Karen. I would not want to commute in the winter there either. Heck, I don’t like to commute by bike in the winter here too, but mainly because of the darkness.


Categories

