Posted by: Karen | August 24, 2010

Whoosh Goes My Summer

Here comes summer,
Here comes summer,
Chirping robin, budding rose.
Here comes summer,
Here comes summer,
Gentle showers, summer clothes
Here comes summer,
Here comes summer-
Whoosh-shiver-there it goes.
– Shel Silverstein

Last week Little Mermaid and I kicked back at a favourite, rustic, all-inclusive we’ve visited before. It was nice to recharge inside and out, and also to reconnect with family who live nearby. We swam in the heated outdoor pool, paddled in canoes, played volleyball and enjoyed good food with great people. In between camp activities and at my mom’s the weekend following I managed a couple of solid runs and road bike rides.

Tuesday’s 6:30 am road ride was the first time I’d been on Stretch, my road bike all summer, and I felt like I was flying down the highway – ZOOM! At one point I’d nestled nicely into my aerobars and “the zone”, when a truck honked his horn repeatedly at me upon passing. I was just about to wave with my longest finger when I noticed his WIDE LOAD sign, which immediately sent me hunting for the next exit. I pulled off in time to wave all five of my fingers at the next Wide Load Truck and the house following it. My other bike ride involved riding from Duhamel to Ferintosh on wonderfully wide shoulders and fresh new pavement, for about 40k in around 90 minutes. My legs loved it, but my shoulders got a little tight.

The lake where we vacationed is next to Cooking Lake, which is where my next 5 Peaks trail race is to be held, so I took advantage of our proximity and joined a local group called Runners With Attitude for a pre-run of the 16k Enduro course. They were very organized and Denise S. was very motivating as she swept three of us slower runners through it. The course has hardly any severe elevation changes in it and is a delight to run. I look forward to racing it on Saturday.

Categories

