Posted by: Karen | April 6, 2010

Fit-ting It In

One of the good things about my recent move is that I am a little closer to work (less than 8k now) than I used to be. I’m very close to a bus route that takes me almost door-to-door in about 35 minutes, but even better, there are some handy bike and run routes that don’t take me much longer than the bus ride.

Last week I rode to work twice. The first time I stayed almost entirely on fairly flat creekside and riverside bike paths.  The main dangers on the paths involve gravel or other path users on the blind curves under street bridges and perhaps the occasional off-leash dog.

The second bike day, on Wednesday, I had to resort to side streets with a big hill climb, as the pathway is closed for construction (!) possibly for a few months. Good thing I had tested the street route, so at least I knew the way. The side streets are fairly quiet, and as long as it is light out I’m fine with it. It was cold out; just a little above freezing, so my hands, legs and toes got quite cold on the way in.

I didn’t run at all last week, but I think I’ve figured out a way to work it back into my life again.

Categories

