Posted by: Karen | March 29, 2010

Something Old, Something New

Trophy Bowl and Beer

All winter and much of the last one I’ve gone on and on about working up to 50 consecutive races in the Grand Prix. I know, my bragging is getting old, but I haven’t told you about the trophy bowl yet. At the series wrap-up banquet a couple of weekends ago I finally received the traditional award for reaching that number – a box of Labatt’s 50 beer. In addition to the beer, I also received a hand painted bowl, with 50 represented on it in many different ways. This will last longer than the beer, and it will inspire me to get out for my runs after breakfast.

Here’s something new: I finally commuted to work on my bike for the first time in several years today. When I worked part time half a decade ago I biked in once in a while, but I haven’t done it since starting back to work full-time. Since moving last month, I have borrowed a friend’s old hybrid bike, which I think will be a more durable commuter than Stretch, my delicate triathlon Fuji. The hybrid is heavy but sturdy, and I think with a few adjustments it will suit me just fine. I need to come up with a name for it.

It’s less than 8 km to work via streets over a huge plateau, which looks a lot flatter on Google Maps than it really is. On Saturday I tried a trial run up and down the big monster hills, which required walking up and even down an escarpment according the route I’d planned on the web. Ugh.

Last night I spent some time affixing my headlamp to my helmet with rubber bands and twist ties, but I didn’t really need to. It’s actually light enough in the mornings now to not require lights.

This morning I took the pathway all the way around two golf courses and through the zoo. It involved more mileage than Saturday’s trial, but I didn’t have to walk big monster hills, I didn’t have to worry about vehicular traffic, and it only took about 10 minutes longer. I left home the same time as I usually do for my bus, and still arrived with enough time to change clothes before work. It took me about 45 minutes each way,  felt pretty good, and I enjoyed the quietness of the paths.

I’m going to enjoy this commute even more as spring greens up the parks along the way.

Responses

  1. I love that bowl and what it represents! Congratulations on your running accomplishments!

    As the days get longer you will probably have more company along the bike trail to and from work. When I run after work along that path into the spring and summer, I see about 15 or so bike commuters heading north and that would be over a 20 minute period.

  2. Good for you!

  3. Congrats!!!!

  4. […] week I rode to work twice. The first time I stayed almost entirely on fairly flat creekside and riverside bike paths.  The main dangers on […]


Categories

