Posted by: Karen | January 16, 2010

The Hills are A-Glazed

I tried to run my usual neighbourhood doggy-park dirt trail route today, but the snow covering the paths was encrusted with a thick glaze. I’m missing a Yaktrax (it went missing after December’s Club Night), so with only my trail shoes it was quite a challenge.

I resorted to a little more walking and a little more pavement than usual, but at least I got some exercise out in the warm chinook air and sunshine.

In other news, we’ve taken down the Christmas tree and sold our house. I go shopping for a condo for Little Runner and I starting tomorrow.  The guys will be looking for their own place, too. Yes, our lives will be changing quite a bit in the next couple of months. I likely won’t go into detail about it here, but the support of friends is always welcome, and I don’t keep many secrets.

This will remain primarily a running blog, but my life is an integral part of my running, and vice versa. Sometimes my blog title “All Downhill From Here” represents more than just my love for running down hills.

Responses

  1. WHAT?!? Did I miss something here? I don’t remember you mentioning anything like this.

    That’s awful, Karen. 😦

  2. Thanks, Jon. That’s because I haven’t mentioned anything like that on the interwebs. The soon-to-be-ex and I came to this decision last September, but have been living together and amicably trying to sell the house and sort this new future out ever since. I don’t want to bemoan the ending of 20 years of marriage on the ‘net, but it’s my life and now that the house is sold, the divorce begins.

    It will affect my finances, my availability for group runs and races, and eventually, my relationships with other runners. I’ve mentioned the imminent separation in person to family, some friends and running buddies already, but it was time to say it out loud on the blog and facebook (since I import it into my notes).

    So far we’re not being very nasty, but our lives have evolved in different directions enough that it’s time to split up. I’m glad the kiddos are not little, and that they are getting to have a say in some of the decisions too.

    Yeah, it sucks, and has been for quite a while. Likely it will suck even more in the near future, but it’s a challenge I’ll manage. I have a great support network; a family who’s trying to understand, buddies like you, my health and work, and chocolate. I recently found some 65% Madascar Lindt that has been very consoling.

  3. Oh! Karen! Lives do evolve and your road could be rocky but I have confidence that with your running and those that hold a special place in your heart, you will reach a place where you will be saying it’s all uphill from here! Maybe that is starting now!

  4. so sorry to hear this Karen. It does seem like you’ve come to a decision, that while not ideal, is what you need to move forward. Please know we’re with you in spirit and hope that you can make the best of the situation.

  5. Lots of love.

  6. You did a wonderful job on that hat! The one with the maple leafs. Hold on to your faith girl. He will be with you wherever you go. Lots of love and all the hugs I can send. Hope to see you soon. XOX


Categories

