Posted by: Karen | January 1, 2010

A Hat for 2010

Hey you running readers, this is mostly a post about knitting, but hang in there, as certain features of the hat are connected to my running.

Last year I picked up some thin yarn in a seasonal sale bin – very cheap.  The bright red and the solid grey together kind of reminded me of something from my dad’s old hockey gear bag. I knew i could knit something that looked totally retro with it.

I started the hat while visiting with relatives over Christmas. I wanted to knit something not very demanding while we chatted . I cast on 100 stitches and ribbed the edge, changing colours for stripes on a whim. I totally improvised the pattern, decreasing as best as I could to make a pointy top. I think I should have made the tip even longer and pointier to flop over even more, but this will do.

Hat for 2010

Hat for 2010

The hat has 10 maple leaves randomly embroidered on it. I borrowed the leaf pattern from a cute sock ornament, but wasn’t sure where I wanted to knit them in, so I embroidered them on later.

10 for 2010.

10 for 10 races in my favourite XC running race series.

On January 24, 2010, I will have been a runner for 10 years.

10 for my 10 years of running.

Responses

  1. I love the hat!

  2. Cute hat; great goal.
    Happy New Year!

  3. No doubt about it. You’re a perfect 10! 🙂

  4. cute! Hey there, I’m soo bad with geography..but how far are you from vancouver?


Categories

