Posted by: Karen | May 30, 2009

Marathon Weekend – It’s Here!

No, I’m not running the marathon. Been there, done that, and haven’t been able to wrap my body, schedule, life and brain around that distance again since. I heartily respect those who embrace, cherish, and challenge themselves with the glorious 42.2 km / 26.2 miles, however, and enjoy supporting our local Calgary Marathon by volunteering.

If you’re in Calgary, you’re not racing this weekend and you haven’t signed up to volunteer yet, stop reading this, head down to the Fitness Expo at the Max Bell Centre, and sign up. They’re still looking for course marshals.

My good friend Dawn will be in the volunteer room and if you mention I sent you for a hug, she will indeed oblige.

Go ahead, I’ll wait until you get back.

*

*

*

See? That wasn’t so hard, was it? And now you get to be a very important part of something big šŸ™‚

In other news, I reported earlier this week that I get to call the split times of the half marathon half way point, when I really am stationed at the FULL marathon halfway point. So if you’re marathoning tomorrow, I’ll be the noisy one with the watch at 21.1k marker near the University.

Since I’ll be likely too busy calling out times and won’t get to cheer you on in my usual cheeky manner, I’ll give you some of those words now, to use on yourself later:

WOOOOHOOO!

Are you sticking to that race plan?
Plan the race, race the plan!

Go go go!

Giddy UP!

Run now, rest later!

Is this your best effort?

Looking GOOD!

Are we having FUN yet?

You PAID to do this, with more than just money.
SAVOUR IT!

Celebrate your training!

Smiles make you lighter šŸ™‚

You are living the DREAM, baby.
This is what you worked so hard for!
LOVE IT!

YEEHA!

Hang in there!

Run well!

If you’re volunteering out on the course, feel free to fling any of those cheers liberally at racers. Heck, write them on the road if you have a chance.

Have a great race, eh. Now I have to go buy some sidewalk chalk.

Categories

