Posted by: Karen | May 8, 2009

Active Week

Monday night I swam.

Tuesday at lunch Dawn and I ran with The Start Line group. We ran 5 minutes, walked 3, ran 8 minutes, walked 3, then ran for 5 minutes again. These were long stretches of running for some of the new runners – they’d only run up to 4 minutes in a row up until then. Nobody died, and I saw a lot of smiles at the end, especially when Dawn raced one of the faster ones for the last 30 seconds.

Wednesday night Little Runner and I went orienteering. We had a lot of fun, even though I told her this was serious business and that “Fun is not allowed” (ha, little inside joke of ours). When we first looked at the map it was like we’d forgotten every symbol we’d learned last year, but it came back as we hiked along.

“I’ll tell two friends, and they’ll tell two friends,
and so on, and so on, and so on…”

In a funny twist of events, a couple of acquaintances of mine actually tried orienteering too, in part because I had raved about it. I had no idea these two knew each other, and it was very funny when they saw each other at orienteering and mentioned that maybe their friend “Karen” would be here too. Huh, they wondered if it was the same person, it’s a very common name…  yup, it was me! Here’s a photo of the three of us. Go read Andra’s side of the story. Cool beans.

Calgary's big, but it's a small world

Calgary's big, but it's a small world

Thursday I actually managed to show up on time with the CRR 10k group at Edworthy. I was rewarded with friendly smiles and faster runners who looped back and waited for me at key points as we ran up and up past the Alberta Children’s Hospital and the U of C.

I celebrated making it UP the hill by joyfully bounding dow-ow-own past the Foothills Hospital. Wheeee! Nobody had to wait for me on the way down. Karin stayed and chatted with me through the hardest part, the last flat couple of km before we got back to the cars. I haven’t put in that much consistent effort for 5 miles in a long time. Thanks 10k’ers!

Responses

  1. Woohoo for active weeks! I love them and yours sounds like it was a great one! Glad I got to meet you and Little Runner.


Categories

