Posted by: Karen | March 21, 2009

In Search of Spring

I couldn’t find the chocolate mint box of Gu I bought last Christmas, which I was saving specifically for whiny long spring runs. I’ve looked high and low for it. It’s driving me nuts.

Eventually I did get out the door for my long run, and it was all downhill from there. Literally. I ran downhill for over 30 minutes, deep into the bottom of Bowmont Park, to the Bow River. I took some pictures with my phone and mucked around in the mud in the park for a while and hiked back up.

Towards the end I ran some more, for a total of 1:44 out in the thin sunshine and strong cold wind.

I kind of hoped I’d see a wild windflower or two, but I didn’t. I didn’t see anything green except some slime under a south facing waterfall. The waterfall was nice.

Mucking about in the mud was kind of fun. I think I achieved the maximum weight of mud my trail shoes are capable of carrying before they would get sucked off my feet. Splashing about in snowcone snow and puddles afterwards was kind of fun too, but after that it was just a big slog uphill and against the blustery wind to home.

Why am I doing this, again?

Responses

  1. Imagine a grown (or is that *groan*) girl like you playing in the mud! Ha ha, I hope you had fun and maybe that’s why you are doing this. Wow, time flies, and it’s been a while since I’ve visited your blog. I see you now have WordPress, or did you always have it? Anyway, the latest version is so easy to update now. Love it.

    Maybe I will say hi to you during the race when I run the Calgary Marathon May 31st. Can’t wait!


Categories

