Posted by: Karen | January 21, 2009

A Day to Remember

Yesterday was a normal day in many ways, but I hope I will remember it for a long time.

I started reading the book “Mindful Knitting” on the way to work. I really like how knitting calls me to be focused and quiet. I already like some of the way being mindful of my steps and breathing when I run helps me do this. It’s strange, but knitting and running do a lot of the same things for my soul in different ways.

At work we interviewed someone who is to become my new co-worker. This will be an interesting new phase in my work life.

When the candidate walked into the office yesterday, she reminded me that the U.S. Presidential Inauguration Ceremony was beginning. I called it up on my computer and let it play in the background while I worked. I have to admit there were moments during the speech that I didn’t get much work done, but I hope I always remember those moments.

After work the train on the way home was empty enough for me to take a seat. That never happens! I arrived at home to Hubby and Little Runner making dinner (a Tuesday night gift I savour).

After dinner I ran 3 x 1 mile repeats with the 10k group at the Olympic Oval.

There was as usual plenty of distraction around the rubber track.  At one point a speed skating teacher fell when attempting a jump to turn around in front of his students. He wasn’t hurt, and it was funny. A couple of us runners joshed him as we went by and he took it good naturedly.

Our group leader, Jason, was encouraging as he lapped me on his way around the track. He jazzed up his usual “Good Job” to “You’re doing G-r-r-r-r-e-A-A-T!” I think somebody had too many Frosted Flakes for breakfast.

A running friend in another group, Alan, asked me mid-repeat how it was going. I panted back “Not Dead Yet!” and he laughed.

I didn’t want to do the third mile, but I was glad, once I finished, that I had. My times were not stellar for me, but not bad for January; 9:32, 9:40, 9:35. I put in a good effort, didn’t hurt myself, and my muscles feel challenged “in a good way” today.

Responses

  1. um. Yeah have been wondering why there were no new posts from you on bloglines!!! phew. Here you are…you may resume…

  2. Way to go!


Categories

