Posted by: Karen | August 17, 2008

Recovery Running & Orienteering

Tuesday after work I dropped by Gord’s Running Store to pick up a nice donation of prizes for the Robert Hamilton Memorial Race next weekend. We could use a few more volunteers, if you’re interested.

I still made it home in time to change and head out with the Roadrunners 10k group. Jason had measured out a 5k route for an impromptu race (the Inaugural Motley Running Crue 5k), and even brought homemade pirate medals and chocolates for participants. Sarah and I were recovering from our recent race exploits, and opted to skip the fast 5k for a social recovery jog along the riverside. We did warm up and cool down with the group.

Wednesday night Little Runner and I enjoyed a fun Orienteering session at Confederation Park. I talked through the Level 1 course map with her and then she found all the flags in 25 minutes all by herself. I gave her a head start and did my own Level 2 with about 18 minutes of jogging. I could have done it faster, but at one point I thought I knew which monument was next and didn’t read my map carefully. It worked out well, because Little Runner and I finished our last two flags in a flat out race to the end. Woohoo and high fives!

Thursday it was the Boy’s birthday, so instead of running we had company over for cake. I had thought I might run in the morning before work, but forgot. Friday night I worked on race stuff. We’re going to have a lot of fun next weekend!

Responses

  1. Birthday Boys come first! Glad he had company. One special guy. He won’t forget this one.


Categories

