Posted by: Karen | June 28, 2008

Speedwork & Skeeters

Tuesday, Fiona and I joined the CRR 10k group for some drills, plus 10 push-ups and sit-ups. I was okay with 10 push-ups but not so much with the sit-ups. Normally when I’m there I just do 10 crunches, but this time I actually tried getting my elbows all the way to my knees. Ha, only managed 3 of those, not very well, and my belly hurt for 3 days after.

Some of the Roadrunners are training for a half marathon, so they set off on 5 x 1 mile repeats. Fiona was new to speed repeats, so we stuck to 5 x 800m instead. We found a good, consistent pace that didn’t make Fiona want to kill me, but it kept us going faster than we would have normally run.

It had rained earlier in the day, but the sun – and the mosquitoes – came out later. The mosquitoes didn’t bother us much as long as we kept moving.

Categories

