Posted by: Karen | March 20, 2008

Easy is not the Point

My apologies to those who are not Celine Dion fans, but I got one of her songs stuck in my head this week, and it wouldn’t leave. It stuck with me through a busy, hard week, and kept me going. I don’t personally own any of Celine’s albums, but I like some of her music.

Below is an exerpt of the lyrics that kept me going up 5 hills tonight after run class.

It’s an uphill climb, and I’m feeling sorry
But I know it will come to you

Don’t surrender ’cause you can win
In this thing called love

When you want it the most there’s no easy way out
When you’re ready to go and your heart’s left in doubt
Don’t give up on your faith
Love comes to those who believe it
And that’s the way it is

When you question me for a simple answer
I don’t know what to say, no
But it’s plain to see, if you stick together
You’re gonna find a way, yeah

So don’t surrender ’cause you can win
In this thing called love

When you want it the most there’s no easy way out
When you’re ready to go and your heart’s left in doubt
Don’t give up on your faith
Love comes to those who believe it
And that’s the way it is

Substitute “run” for “love”, and you’ve got a pretty good running song, there. It’s also part of my answer to the questions I asked earlier this week.

  • What does easy running mean to you?
    It’s the part of the run when I’m not wishing I wasn’t.
    Usually that involves not totally busting my lungs, but not always. Some trails are worth busting my lungs for, and the enjoyment of being on them eases the effort.
  • Has it ever been so?
    It happens a lot more now than it used to, sometimes for entire runs, even during workouts that take all my effort. It happens more often when I’ve been putting in hard efforts on a regular basis. But then, I’ve grown to enjoy working at my runs. Who would have thought that I would come to enjoy hard work?! Huh.
  • What is an easy run for you?
    Running with someone my pace or slightly slower is often easier than running on my own, mostly because the chatting distracts me. Even when we are quiet, and are running at a slightly faster pace than I would normally go, company makes it easier. I also like runs when I’m working at a specific set of tasks, like speed or hill repeats. It’s easier if I can break it up into sections. Of course, descents are the easiest for me.
  • When did it happen for you, how, and why?
    I don’t exactly remember when I first experienced an easy run, but it was probably when I was running for more than 5 minutes at a time.
  • Is easy running a good thing?
    I guess that depends on your definition of an easy run. If you want all your runs to feel effortless, you will often be disappointed, and you won’t improve. You are running to improve yourself, right? It takes hard ones in between the easy ones to build up enough fitness and appreciation for when the really great runs happen.

That’s the way it is for me.

Wishing you all a Happy Easter!

Responses

  1. hi
    found your blog on random search, really enjoyed some of your articles
    pls check out my running blog http://www.chriswelman.blogspot.com/


Categories

