Posted by: Karen | February 16, 2008

Learning and Leading

On Monday I did something I’ve never done. I led a Learn to Run group on their first run. I’ve run with different store groups and have coached curious new Penguins with the Roadrunners on different occasions, but this was a stretch for me to be an official clinic leader.

The hardest part involved me having to introduce myself to the group. I was terribly nervous and it showed, but we all got over that. I enjoyed hearing the other leaders and participants introduce themselves too. Once I set my watch and we got out the door I naturally chatted up a storm and we had a great session.

My beginner group started out running for 30 seconds, then walking for 4 minutes 30 seconds. We repeated that 8 times. I’ve started calling it the talk/run program, instead of a walk/run program, because we talk through the whole thing. That might be a reason why I typically see more women than men in LTR clinics – not sure. What do you think?

The 10k class started out running 5 minutes at a time, stayed on the same loop as us, and looped back once in a while. We ran on sidewalks near the store. Some walks were clear of ice and snow, but not the whole way.

Thursday I went back and we did it again. This time we walked a little faster and covered a little more ground. Claire came out to help pace the group and was a great help at navigating around the neighbourhood.

I am getting in some training at my own pace as well. Monday night I did a few fartleks back and forth after class before heading back to the car. Thursday night I ran up a very convenient, gently-sloped, 3-minute hill 5 times before heading home.

Responses

  1. Way to keep up the hill training!! Sounds like you’re having fun leading your learn to run group.

  2. You’ll be a fabulous teacher! And after more years of teaching than I care to admit, I can say that I still get nervous before the start of a new class. Not as bad as I used to… It used to be so bad I almost barfed before my first class. Now it’s down to frantic jitters. (It’s been 12 years, for heaven’s sake!) They say the nerves are good on the first day of class (or the first few days.) Once the nerves go away, it’s time to stop teaching.


Categories

