Posted by: Karen | January 1, 2008

First Run This Year

I ran today, for the first time in two weeks. No, I haven’t been injured or ill; just busy enjoying Christmasy days, resting and reconnecting with family and friends.

My run was not long, but I did conquer several hills on the snowy dirt paths in two doggy parks. I met two schnauzers, a couple of big mutts, a blue heeler and a german shepherd puppy. After about 30 minutes my left knee got kind of loose and wobbly and whiny, and the zipper on my jacket jammed, so it was a good thing I was just about home.

I then had a lovely soak with some of Lush bath bomb I got for Christmas – Jingle Spells.  Since I was indulging myself so well, I also brought the box of chocolate covered cherries along to the bath, and proceeded to nearly die of suffocation when I leaned back in the tub and the cherry syrup went down the wrong pipe. Apparently, trail running is safer than bathing while eating chocolate. Who knew?

Saturday morning I’m heading over to the Douglas Fir Trail for an 8k Charity Goat Run. I’ve never run the DF in the winter – this could be fun.

Responses

  1. Happy New Year! Enjoy that bath bomb!

  2. Ahhh, the visuals you created… and no pictures!! Gotta watch out for that sneaky cherry filling, hehe! Run Good!

  3. Went for a walk today, while Wayne, Elsie, & Ed went to town. I’m cooking supper so better get busy, but just had to check in and see how daughter dear is doing. Sure glad you survived!!! I threw the rest of our chocolates out a couple of days ago. Aren’t you proud of me? Even went out with my honey and took pictures of him skiing. That was fun! XOXOXOX

  4. Sounds like a great few yours, except for the near choking of course! I need to make a trip to Lush for my first back to running bath next month! 😀


Categories

