Posted by: Karen | November 17, 2007

Memorial Run, Snowy Trail & White Fingers

Today's Trail courtesy of Dawn HenryI had an AWESOME run out on the Telephone Loop trail today with Gabino on the way out, and catching up to Dawn in the last km on the way back. We were out for 1:43 on snow and dirt, with some almost-frozen mud. Loved it!

Gabino knew about Ryan Shay, but not about Dorothy, so I told him what I knew about her while we ran. On the way back alone (G had gone further ahead with other friends after a while), I got to think more about deaths and births and was very, very grateful for my time out there on the trail. This was good, because it kept me from wondering about bears.

Dawn and I had a snack back at the car, and Gabino came back about 15 minutes after we did. As we chatted outside my hands got cold and I put my mitts on. They went numb, so I tucked them under my armpits to warm them up.

When we got in the car to drive back I took off my mitts to find 3 1/2 totally white, numb fingers on my right hand, like this, except I don’t remember any blue parts.

Lovely.

It didn’t hurt, but it was disconcerting. It took about 45 minutes to get them back to normal. I guess I’m going to have to take better care to keep my hands warm.

Responses

  1. Ouch on the hands!! Maybe keep a heat pack or two handy in the car? I’ve only used the ones that you stick on your back when it gets sore and they do get really hot.

    BTW, I finally got around to the tag! 🙂 Answers are posted.


Categories

