Posted by: Karen | November 9, 2007

Folks Like Me

Tuesday and Thursday I ran outside behind the Roadrunners 10k group again. We did a few 600m repeats back and forth on Bruce’s Loop on Tuesday, and three hill repeats on the Foothills Hospital hill last night. We might have done four hills, but a few of us are planning on racing the Edworthy Cross Country tomorrow. That should make up for keeping the hill workout short.

Now that it’s dark and getting colder, the outside group has become smaller, but we have been running in shorter loops, so as not to leave folks like me behind too much.

I say “folks like me”, because I know you’re out there, wondering if you should come out and run with us. You’re wondering if it’s worth cutting into your schedule to drive all the way to the U of C to struggle with parking, just to be left behind by a group you’re looking to for support. You’re thinking that running isn’t really a social sport, and you should just suck it up and run on your own until you’re faster. On the other hand, you’re wondering if you really want to run alone all winter in the dark.

If you’re still reading, you’re probably wondering why I’m rambling on about this. I’m not quite sure, myself. I just know that I am a much more consistent runner and my best is a little better when I’m challenged by a group to show up and put in the effort. You might not be a runner like me, or you might be a lot like me and don’t know it yet. Let me know if we should look for you next Tuesday, eh? See you out there.

One more thing, if you are a Calgary Roadrunner member, check out the new members-only Forums feature on the CRR website. You can get to know some of our other members on-line, ask or answer some questions, even plan meet-ups or find a running buddy. See you in there!

Categories

