Posted by: Karen | July 12, 2007

Ten Hills

A strange thing happened this morning – I got out of bed early and went out running. It took me a long time from the first alarm to get out the door, but I did it. I ran my usual street + trail route through Ranchlands, up into Hawkwood and down into Edgemont. That took me 30 minutes and five uphill climbs (and descents, woohoo!) out. I took almost the same route home.

It was already warm and humid outside, but I knew it would be hotter later, so I sweated it out. It has been a few weeks since I did this route. Now there were some parts where my view of the dirt path was totally obscured by grasses as tall as my shoulder. I picked up my feet a little extra there – didn’t want to trip. The grasses tickled my arms and legs and made them itchy. The few times I ran through thistles, the scratching actually felt kind of nice.

There were bluebells and brown eyed susans all over the place. Purple bells, really. Calgary soil’s pH level turns all the blue flowers purple.

I finished the last hill up to my crescent at shortly after an hour, and walked the last few minutes in. Then I came inside and died. Not really, but it’s been a while since I’ve done a morning run, and I really wanted to go back to bed. A shower, coffee, and some toast revived me and I headed off to work. Hah, now what shall I do this evening?

Responses

  1. Hey Karen, you forgot to mention sweeping for spider webs! Which is what I did this morning. I am sure they do the web thing to travel about and see the world before they drop off to settle down and raise a spider family. So I personally am not worried about them because I know they will drop off me soon enough. It’s either that or they have ambitious dreams of snaring a deer for dinner or something. If you haven’t yet had the pleasure of sweeping a trail for spider webs come on up and I’d be glad to give you a tour. This morning they were so thick I wondered if I could drag the extra resistance around with me! 🙂

  2. That is one thing I like about the saturday morning runs – the evening is free. Although, there’s no way I’d be up early to run before work. Zombies can’t run.

  3. Good for you!! I’ll keep this in mind when I start my hills in a couple of weeks!!


Categories

