Posted by: Karen | June 22, 2007

A Bedtime Story

Once upon a time I ran downtown by the river (Thursday this week), and it was lovely. The sun shone and there was a light breeze. It was not too hot and not too cold.

I ran mostly on the dirt path beside the paved path. It was not to soft and not too hard. Goldilocks would’a loved it!

After the first couple of miles I settled into a pace that was not too fast, and not too slow. I kept it up for five gorgeous miles, west to Crowchild Trail, east to Prince’s Island, and then back to the meeting place. I went just far enough.

I sat out on the patio that was not too cold, and noshed on a plate of nachos with jalapenos that were not too hot. I even cooled down with a honey brown beer that was not too warm. The company was friendly and entertaining, a mix of veterans and beginners, trail lovers and a track enthusiast, old and not as old.

I came home to a bed that was not too hard and not too soft, and slept like there were no scary bears for miles and miles. Let’s hope that tomorrow I don’t meet up with any bears and go on to live happily ever after.

Responses

  1. A story that is … just right!

  2. Now that’s a great bedtime story. Sorry I didn’t make it. Maybe next time.

  3. Such a fairytale ending….

  4. Uh, oh. Where’s Karen? I hope there weren’t any bears. 😉

  5. Not to long, not to short. . This story was just right.


Categories

