Posted by: Karen | March 17, 2007

Good Times at the St. Patrick’s Day Race

As usual, I had a good time. There is nothing like a bib on my belly, an official timer, and a few hundred other runners to get me buzzing.

I achieved an average 10k race time for me – like I worked on the course, but also like I haven’t been doing speed work (both true). Chip time: 1:04:32 – two minutes better than last summer’s Milk River 10k, which is good enough for now.

Some good moments were at 1 km, where my 6 minute timer beeped exactly as I ran past the marker (woohoo!) and at 8 km when the volunteer reminded me about beer at the end. I’m not much of a beer drinker, but it does taste reeeally good after a hard run. Or with pizza, but I digress.

The worst good times were about 3 km in (when I realized I was NOT keeping up the PR pace) and then the 8th km (which was just plain HARD, but I still kept moving forward).

By the way? I did not chat. I whooped heartily several times, thanked volunteers, and even sang to volunteers wee Davey, Karin and Neil in the second loop, but otherwise I just breathed and ran. I wore an army green cap, my 2005 St. Patrick’s Race shirt and my son’s kelly green soccer socks.

The best good times involved greeting friends before, during and after the race. I think I knew about 2/3 of the volunteers out there. Oh, and the last km I when somehow managed to reel in two chatty ladies that had crept past me in that tough 8th km. Finishing was glorious! And running past cameras, of course – love the cameras.

I had a great time noisily cheering Dawn into the finish. “GIVE IT UP FOR DAWWWWN!” Dawn was moving so fast that finish line volunteer Karen Chugg didn’t recognize her.

Then we went into the hall for beer and vegetarian creamed soup. There was no beef stew left, but I didn’t care – the beer tasted great.

Responses

  1. Woohoo! A good time AND a good time! Too bad the beer went to someone else… 😦

  2. Great job on the 10K time and beating your other 10K by 2 minutes! Sounds to me like a very fun race! 

    On a side note, I wanted to thank you again for linking to our running Blog Database on the main Faithful Soles web site, which has now grown to bloggers from 38 states in the USA and 21 other countries. Keep up the great work and I’ll look forward to reading more of your posts about your training and racing.

  3. It was great meeting you at the race, I finally got around to posting my photos had some web snafu’s yesterday after I got home, I wasn’t ultra-happy with my overall results but then I tend to be a perfectionist at times :mrgreen: And will still admit to be in the learning process

    And here is my photoset from the race.

  4. In response to Dianne’s comment, I did not win my weight in beer. In some cruel twist of fate, the 5k women’s race winner’s name also got drawn for the WYWIB contest. Oh, the disappointment!

    Ah well, maybe all that beer will slow her down a little…

  5. hooray for green beer!

  6. Woooot! congrats on a great race and time! I can’t wait to be racing again!


Categories

