Posted by: Karen | March 6, 2007

Coo Coo Skin Stealer

Skin Stealer
by Shel Silverstein

This evening I unzipped my skin
And carefully unscrewed my head,
Exactly as I always do
When I prepare myself for bed.
And while I slept a coo-coo came
As naked as could be
And put on the skin
And screwed on the head
That once belonged to me.
Now wearing my feet
He runs through the street
In a most disgraceful way,
Doin’ things and sayin’ things
I’d never do or say.
Ticklin’ the children
And kickin’ the men
And dancin’ the ladies away.
So if he makes your bright eyes cry
Or makes your poor head spin,
That scoundrel you see
Is not really me –
He’s the coo-coo
Who’s wearing my skin.

Some coo coo totally trashed my legs on the weekend. Did you see my report about Sunday’s run? Where my legs had so much fun? Dang it, I’m starting to rhyme like Shel.

The point is that the quads and various other body parts registered stern complaints yesterday. Ooch. Funny, I don’t get stiff like that after the XC 8k races. Apparently 45 more hilly minutes than usual brought on a recovery challenge.

This weekend we have ONE more race in the CRR Grand Prix XC series, in which I will be totally nailing the 8k distance and securing a placement in the overall standings. As long as I can keep the coo coo from going totally amuck the rest of the week, of course…

Responses

  1. 😛 I’ve always loved that poem. Sorry about your legs, though. Hope the coo coo brings them back. 😀

  2. I LUV Shel Silverstein!!! “Chester come to school and said, “Durn, I growed another head…” Cracks me UP!! I love the Skin Stealer one!!

  3. I ADORE Shel Silverstein. “Where the Sidewalk Ends” was the first book I ever picked out and bought on my own (with birthday money when I was 7)

    Thanks for the grin! Take care of those trashed legs.:grin:


Categories

