Posted by: Karen | January 11, 2007

Viking Warrior Charges Up Hills

Monday night I procrastinated in getting out, but did manage to put in 30 minutes of running around Ranchlands  while Little Runner was at Girl Guides. I came upon a big Running Room class stretching by the 7-11 and was greeted with the announcement “RUNNER! RUNNER COMING THROUGH!” and they started to vacate the sidewalk for me. I shyly ran around them on the grass “S’okay, I’m a trail runner. I like this bumpy part…” It was kind of cool to be hailed in such a way, though.

Tonight I went out in the blustery cold. It was -19C/-2F with a blustery NW wind that gave the windchill a feeling of -28C/-18. A blizzard is on it’s way in, so I layered up before heading out. Long johns, lined windpants, double-layer socks, 2 long sleeved mock turtlenecks, a lined wind breaker, big cloth mitts, an ear band, thin toque and a neck tube to cover my mouth and nose.

You can’t brag about it unless you’ve done it, so I went.

It wasn’t all that bad. It took me 11 minutes to get to the store, where I found a bunch of hardy souls ready to run. At least I thought I did. What, the hills group isn’t doing hills tonight? I whined a little and found two other crazy nuts willing to do hills with me.

Alexis and Megan gamely followed me to my favourite 2-3 minute hill a couple of km away. It’s sheltered by apartment buildings and the sidewalk is clean there, so it was perfect. We did 4 hills and I maintained a respectable (for me) pace of around 2:30-2:40 per up. The hill turned NW at the top and we always finished head on with snow blasting onto our faces.

Me VikingThinking of myself as a Viking Warrior conquering a huge hill made me whoop at the top every time I got there. Even A and M enjoyed their run – the right company can really make a difference. They were faster than me but very, very kind in looping back and offering encouragement. I ran harder and rested less than I would have if I had been on my own.

The funny part is – I’ll probably never recognize those girls again, unless I hear their names. We were so bundled up we barely got to see each other’s faces.

I got home with sweat totally soaked right through my jacket. Hubby chuckled at all the little frosted-up hairs on my face. I tucked into turkey stew with homemade bread. Yum. A nice warm bubble bath topped off the evening.

Monday’s 4 km plus tonight’s 7.5 km brings me a little closer to Frostbite Falls. Here I come!

Responses

  1. Ice Princess, coming through! Good for you, Karen!!

  2. My dear little Viking Warrior,

    You will be so proud of Ed. He is out there skiing! He is just a hoot when he comes in with his beard all frosted up with icicles! I managed to walk up and down the stairs at the campsite 7 times while he enjoyed his new equipment on the slopes. Think I will stick to stairs for now, but at least I got off my but!

    Love, Mom


Categories

