Posted by: Karen | November 20, 2006

CRR Club Night, Happy Feet, & Santa Clause

Whoa, where did the weekend go?

Club Night
Thursday Joanne & I showed up at the Key West Bar & Grill for Calgary Roadrunners Club Night, and the place was booked for a private function, due to wrap up sometime soon. No problem, sez we, we’re going out for a run – we’ll come back later. Jason also came with us, and we put in a good hour of running.

We met up with Clyde back at the KW, but the party was still going strong. The music was blaring, but the staff said, sure, come in – we’ll serve you. They wouldn’t turn down the music at our request, and the food took forever. NOT a great way to have a visit with our running friends. Heck, I had to miss the first 10 minutes of Survivor! Next time I won’t come if they have a private function booked. I’ll be calling ahead.

Happy Feet
My buddy Dawn had tickets to a private showing of Happy Feet on Saturday morning, so she took her granddaughter, my daughter, and me to see it with her. We had a BLAST watching this exciting, touching movie, and I can’t wait until I can buy it. Thanks, Dawn!

Santa Clause Parade
Right after the movie we drove downtown, serendipitously found a great parking spot, and arrived on the right curb just before the Santa Clause Parade started. The kids enjoyed waving, catching candy, and listening to marching bands. The parade did not take long, which is a good thing in November in Calgary. It wasn’t very cold here that day, but you never know how cold it’s going to be on parade day.

Of course, right after the parade we had to stop by at Burger King for Happy Feet toys (and lunch). I’m not a big BK food fan, but the toys were worth it.

Trail Traipsing
Sunday morning Dawn and our Little Runners went out again, to work on course routing for our Nose Creek XC race coming up in January. The girls gamely bopped along the trails around us, and scrambled like mountain goats up icy trails that had Dawn and I grabbing at bushes. If it’s not too cold on race day, we’ll have those girls running the course with everyone else!

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to see Happy Feet this week. It looks so cute! And perfect for ‘penguins,’ right????

  2. Sounds like a very busy time indeed!

    Happy Feet is on my list of movies to see. It just looks so cute!


Categories

