Posted by: Karen | October 21, 2006

Two Weeks to IMF

I don’t do triathlons (yet), but some of my favourite people do, and two of them are signed up for the full Ironman Florida distance to be completed two weeks from today. I’ve been trying to think up some ways to encourage them in their incredible journey up to and through this formidable challenge. 

I don’t run with an ipod or anything like that, but I have been known to tuck away a few scribbled lyrics in my mitts, or play a certain song over and over when pumping myself up for a race.

During her recent “longest swim evah!”Nancy dredged up the song “American Pie” in her head to keep her motivated. She needs a better song or two to get her through her first Ironman event. Endurance-inducing songs should not speak of dying. Since there are still a couple of weeks left of taper-time before the big day, I thought she might enjoy socking some inspiring lyrics away for when she needs them.

Ellie has always got some song or another in head, but I thought I might see if I can plant a musical seed in her brain, so when the going gets tough she can remember a line or two and know I’m sending strong vibes her way.

Here, then, are a few of my selections for Nancy and Ellie:

High Hopes – this one’s long and peppy, and is a good reminder that each little stroke/breath/step gets you a little bit closer to your goal.

Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Sing this one to your finish line!

The Bridge – I don’t know if you want this one in your head or not (it gives you an option to fade away), but it speaks to me of choosing to have courage.

Run to You – This one’s mostly for the run – another one to sing to your finish line.

Keep Right On to the End of the Road – You won’t find this on my favourite light rock radio station, but I was browsing through old Scottish drinking songs a while ago, and this one could keep you marching right along.

O The Deep Deep Love of Jesus – A hymn specifically for Ellie, specifically for her swim. This one has stuck with me since hearing it at a dear friend’s funeral way back in 2001. The tune goes in waves and the verses are powerfully comforting.

Mickey Mouse Club Song – I realize this song has nothing to do with running, or motivation, or triathlons, or courage, but strangely enough its beat keeps me plodding along through blizzards and other tough slogs. Yes, it’s a quirky choice. Take it or leave it.

You’ve Got a Friend – Because you’ll have friends there (and here) loving you to the end. I don’t usually get all mushy like this on my blog, but I just feel like it today.

There you go girls, once you’re done watching Kona, you can pick a tune or two and pack it away with all that other motivation you’ve got inside of you.

Responses

  1. Thank you so much!! Those ROCK!!


Categories

