Posted by: Karen | August 30, 2006

Tuesday Again

I love Tuesdays. They come every week 🙂

Last night the Penguins were sparse at Gord’s, but Tim was there. We started out with Kelly, Ian, and Ian’s friend, too. Tim had done the Edmonton Half Marathon a couple of weeks ago and was still recovering. This was a good thing for me, because he didn’t mind going a little slower to accommodate my pace. It took me a little longer than usual to find my groove as we ran along. I think I was a still a little tired from my long run on Saturday.

We ran down the hill in front of the Ukrainian church, across the river, and then west past Prince’s Island. I set a goal to only walk on the bridges, so we ran all the way to 10th Street from there. As we were running back east on the north side of the river someone called hello to me, and I turned around to see Krista (who ran with me often last winter). She was out walking with a friend. After a short visit we ran to the Curling Club stairs and walked up to the top. I was very out of breath at the top, but managed to enjoy some of the view before we ran the last few blocks back to the store.

Tomorrow I will turn 40, and I’m going to start a new tradition. I’m going to run as many minutes in a row as I have years. I wonder how many years I can keep that up? This year’s birthday run will be dedicated to a very special Penguin. I’m telling you this now, so that I won’t just roll over and go back to sleep tomorrow morning. This one’s for Liz.

Editor’s Note (9:05 a.m. Aug. 31): I did my 40 for Liz this morning, before breakfast, even. The report will have to wait until later – time to get ready for work.

Responses

  1. Have a very happy birthday. All the best Karen.

  2. Rise and shine girl! This is the first day of the rest of your life!!! Love, Mom

  3. Great way to celebrate each additional year. By 80, you’ll be setting personal records!


Categories

