Posted by: Karen | August 27, 2006

Great Day to be a Course Marshal

This morning Little Runner and I got up early and headed down near the Bow River for the Robert Hamilton Memorial 5 and 10 miler. This is one of my favourite races, as it covers a lot of the same flat, river-side bike paths that I used in my marathon training. The RHM is one of those small, quiet affairs where you don’t have to worry about chip-times or even road traffic. I’m tempted to call it a casual race, but the distance is Timex Series certified, and some of Calgary’s best die-hards come out to test themselves on this course.

LR and I had two locations we were to marshal on the out-and-back course. At first we directed racers on a key turn going out. Then on the way back there was a new finishing route, and I stood under the 16th Avenue bridge telling confused-looking racers where to go.  Little Runner amused herself in between racers by exploring the nearby grassy areas and watching some fishermen pump up their raft.

Every year Robert Hamilton’s brother Lloyd comes out to help us remember Robert in a different way. This year he brought several of the old t-shirts different sponsors had produced over the 33 years of the race. I always enjoy this part of the post-race events, Lloyd always speaks so well and it gives more meaning to the race.

Bruce and Lindsay, some of the nicest race directors you’ll ever meet, had LR help them hand out door prizes and awards. The medals, like in previous years, were an edible gingerbread runner. LR was thrilled to bits to receive a spare medal when one of the winners had to leave early. She didn’t wait until we could get home and take a picture of it – she had the legs eaten off before we even got to the car. I didn’t win any of the door prizes like Dawn did last year, but at least I have a nice new pair of customized Defeet socks for training – my favourite kind.

Responses

  1. At least one of us got out of the house yesterday. 🙂

  2. So… you like telling people where to go, eh? 😉

  3. I really like the Gingerbread man idea! This event sounds so awesome!

  4. Cool race! Thanks — from anyone on the course who forgot to thank you!


Categories

