Posted by: Karen | August 15, 2006

Tuesdays Make Me Smile

Tuesdays are my group running night. Tuesdays are the run I never blow off, because I feel like part of something good when I show up. Other folks show up to run with me, and I go to run with them. It doesn’t matter whether I’m feeling crappy or not. The experience is always more inspiring than running on my own, even if no one my speed shows up and I end up running on my own anyway. We start together and sometimes we even finish together. We sweat and smile, and come away with something that brings us back the next week.

The last couple of Tuesdays Dawn and I have been befriending Duke, a running newbie who’s thinking of a marathon next summer. She’s been working with him on a learn-to-run program, and last week we stretched his distance and pace a bit.

The frequency of my runs-per-week since the marathon has suffered. I’m barely maintaining 2 runs a week (I try for 3 minimum). This weekend my “long run” suffered, too – I ran a little over 5 km instead of the planned 16. I had a lot of fun with it, though. Dawn and I were out at Dianne’s cabin for the weekend, to celebrate some big birthdays. After a Friday and Saturday of kayaking, swimming in the lake, good food and drink, hot-tubbing, staying up late, daytime napping and LOTS of talking, the 5+ km was plenty.

Sunday morning Dawn and I were up bright and early at 8:15, but we gabbed so much over breakfast that we didn’t get out the door for a run until 9:45. The sun shone and Dawn and I jogged past some quiet countryside to and through a nearby campsite. We went around several loops of trailers, tents and cabins, across the beach, found the golf course, stopped to pick saskatoons, and went back to Dianne’s. 

We all had one last, short, reFRESHing splash in the cool lake and then Dawn and I packed up to come home. The weekend was toooo short. We have to do that again.

Looking forward to tonight’s run, ’cause it’s Tuesday.  🙂

Responses

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I run (in better times) with a great group on Tuesdays throughout Balboa Park. The trails! The hill workouts! The strides and crunches at the end! It’s a great way to break up the week. Glad you feel similarly about your Tuesday nights.

  2. That does sound like a fun weekend. Saskatoons? Are those like macaroons?


Categories

