Posted by: Karen | July 21, 2006

Roadrunner Club Night

No pics of the patio where we ate, but this will do...The Calgary Roadrunners host a social run once a month from the Key West Bar & Grill downtown. The restaurant is not far from the Calgary Marathon start, and close to the river pathway. Club members receive happy hour prices + a 10% discount after the run. This is a new club ritual that started earlier this year, but I hadn’t been to one yet.

Last night I showed up for my first Club Night. Carla and a few other guys were there, and we ran a nice, gentle route west to the Crowchild bridge, across the river and then back over 10th St. I don’t think we were out more than 40 minutes, but it was hot enough to justify a nice, cold Big Rock beer. I hadn’t had time for dinner beforehand, so I ordered up a burger with a spinach salad on the side, yum.

It was nice to get together with some club members I wouldn’t usually see until the cross-country season, and I even met a brand-shiny-new member, too. We talked about our experiences with the recent Calgary Marathon. I was asked about how our Penguin gathering went, and I got to hear about some of the behind-the-scenes challenges the marathon volunteers had this year.

Responses

  1. ah…I miss you.
    Wish I could go to Club Night.

  2. Maybe I’ll make it to the next one. Thursday, I had the runs of a different sort…lol.


Categories

