Posted by: Karen | June 17, 2006

Sunny Evening Run

One nice thing about living way up here on the globe is that in June it takes a long time for the sun to go down. Last night I didn’t get out for my run until 8:20 pm. I ran for 71 minutes on the rolling streets of my neighbourhood, and still made it back before dark. 

It has been raining here for the past couple of days, so it was really nice to be out in sunshine. When the west wind found me the air didn’t feel too muggy. Funny how a “nasty” wind in colder temperatures becomes a “refreshing breeze” in the summer.

I employed much of the same psychology that Jeanne used in her speedwork this week. I wasn’t doing speedwork, but I had some small hills to conquer, and it kept me running up them.

I didn’t run any trails – I’m trying to stick to road training until after the marathon. John in Devon, however, has been filling in for me on the trails. Check out his latest adventure as he is training up for the new 5Peaks race out there.

On my first run past the soccer field I saw a Dairy Queen cup and spoon lying on the ground and thought “tsk! Litterbugs! and with a garbage can across the street!” I was still warming up, but resolved to clean it up on my next loop past. I did the second loop of my neighbourhood in reverse, but as I went past the garbage can I remembered to pick up the litter. Yay for me 🙂

Now I’m going to sound like Vaughn in Montana: Clean up some litter on your next run and feel good about yourself!

Responses

  1. hey, thanks for the shoutout! Oy, i should have read your LAST post before this morning!! My new mantra is never try anything new, EVER!!

    nice job on the late night run. I don’t know how you have the energy that late at night! But must be nice and cool by then.


Categories

