Posted by: Karen | May 12, 2006

A Little of Everything

I’ve been running a lot of hills lately, and haven’t done any speedwork (aside from tempo pace occasionally on Tuesdays, trying to keep up with Tim and Krista), so last night I did some 30/30s. Coach Derek of the Calgary Roadrunners had us doing these at the track last winter. Linae did a set of 30/30s the other day and that reminded/inspired me to do some of my own.

I had another obligation last night as well – Soccer Boy had a game in Hawkwood, a ‘burb-on-a-hill nearby. I drove him to his game, smack dab in the middle of the hill-‘burb, wished him well, and took off running upwards. Warming up while running upwards sucks big time, but after about 5 minutes of up and 15 more of flat I decided I was ready for the speedwork. I had set my watch to beep every thirty seconds and thought maybe I would do 18 repeats, like Coach had set us to do last winter.

I kept track of the repeats using my fingers, because I didn’t want to be checking my watch to see how much time I had left. first 5 or 6 repeats it was like my body didn’t know what to do.

“Fast? Who me? You want me to what?”

Then something clicked and my body remembered why I was trying to lean forward and use my toes more etc. I breezed through 7-10 and then started counting down.

“Only 8 more. Maybe we should do 20, like Linae did. What? This is HARD. Not 20. C’mon, Linae did… We’ll see.”

By 17 I was heading back to the soccer game, I’d literally reached a red light and didn’t want to turn around, so I hit the pedestrian crossing button and waited through 2 beeps for the light to change. Now I had to do 20, because I hadn’t done 18 in a row.

After the 20th one I stopped the incessant beeping of my watch – in the last half it seemed like it was beeping ALL THE TIME, drank a little Gatorade and took a wee walk break. I jogged back down towards the soccer field, taking a winding pathway that worked in a couple of knolls and one steep but short hill before I got back to the game.

Soccer Boy’s team was winning when I got there, but let in a couple of goals towards the end for a 3-3 tie. Hmm. Gotta work on those boys’ endurance.

NOTHING on the calendar tonight. No refereeing, no soccer, no Boys n Girls club, no running, NOTHING. Ahhhhh. I’m going to rest up and get ready for a busy weekend.

Categories

