Posted by: Karen | May 4, 2006

Ah, Fragrant Spring!

Today the sun came out, the wind died down, and hundreds of leaves popped open. I could smell a gentle sweetness as my run took me off the sidewalks and onto the wildness of the dirt trails in my local park. No heady, heavy smells, like lilac or mayday or wolfswhatever that makes my eyes run, just tender, fresh newness. 

I was surprised to see there were still a few crocuses left like this one Loubob took at Easter. I also saw lots of new, tiny buttercuppy type flowers and one little sprig of buffalo beans. Mostly I just enjoyed the freshness of the air and the little surprises of colour.

I didn’t really run that hard tonight. I was out for almost an hour, but after about 30 minutes of running, 10 of it hills, I mostly walked and jogged a little. I didn’t feel any pain, just gave myself a little break because I felt like it.

Responses

  1. This is my favorite part of early spring, just what you described. It sounds like we’re at just about the same point here. I might post about it on my blog, too 🙂 And what a nice run!

  2. We still have crocuses and now the buffalo beans are starting to bloom!

  3. wolf-willow


Categories

