Posted by: Karen | April 24, 2006

Molehill

The more I train, the smaller my hills become.

I’ve been making such a big deal about the hill on next weekend’s Police Half route, and it was starting to intimidate me. My memory of the hill bugged me so much that yesterday I drove down to see it. You know what? It’s not as bad as I remember. I don’t think it’s much worse than the Curling Club hill that I stuck in the middle of my recent 21k long run.

This picture shows the valley I’ll go through at the west end of the Glenmore Reservoir. See that bridge down there in the middle?

Weaselhead Valley from the top

Here’s the view of the ridge on which I took the first picture, from that bridge.

Looking up from the Police Half route

The Police Half hill comes a little later in the course at the 16th kilometer, but I think I can confidently commit to running up the darn thing. I might take walk breaks before and after, but I’ll run up it. It will give me something to look forward to/dread during the first 3/4 of the race, and be a conquest to savour as I cover the last, less scenic 5 km.

Responses

  1. Isn’t that like when you grow up, you remember the walk to school to be so much longer than it actually was? Uphill both ways? πŸ˜€

    Seems like with all the running and races in the woods that you do, most of those hills of yesterday probably are not much to worry about now. You’re just going to have to start finding harder and harder races. πŸ˜‰

  2. Run that hill. Even if you fall apart later. In the long run, it will be a big psychological boost.

  3. You can do it!
    Hills suck.
    But running to the top is FANTASTIC!


Categories

