Posted by: Karen | March 29, 2006

Morning Run

Last night we celebrated my Father-in-Law’s birthday, so I knew I wouldn’t be able to make it to the usual Tuesday night group run at Gord’s. Since the kiddos are away at my parents’ on spring break, however, I had the unusual luxury of having some time to myself before work. I usually prefer to run later in the day, but I have this nagging marathon training plan not letting me off the hook, so I got out there.

A couple of weeks ago my husband and I drove past the large multi-field soccer plateau in our neighbourhood, and I noticed a runner doing laps around it. I thought out loud: “Why would someone just run around in circles like that, when we’ve got such a lovely neighbourhood to run through?” My husband shook his head, ever resigned to his belief that All Runners Are Crazy.

Well, yesterday morning, in my barely-awake fog, I decided to find out for myself why that runner ran up there, by trying it myself. You know what? It’s nice up there. There’s no traffic. There’s a slight indentation of a path in the grass lining the perimeter fence going all the way around. It’s flat, just the right hardness/softness, and there’s no curbs or gopher holes. There’s even a lovely view of the mountains. I still didn’t see the point of running round and round this flat, boring space until it struck me that I could use it like I’d used the indoor track.

My first run around was exploratory. My 2nd, 3rd and 4th rounds I steadily tried to beat the last lap’s time, and I had fun racing against my watch. The time whizzed by and I had to get back home to get ready for work, but I’m going to try that one again. Maybe even during a morning.

Responses

  1. Yeah, I used to hate running on the track, but I use it a lot now since it’s close to my house and I can keep track of my splits and monitor my progress pretty closely. A grass park would be nice for the same reasons, only softer on the feet!

  2. Sounds like a nice little spot. Starting the day with a good run makes the rest of it so much easier.

  3. Since doing the Oval training, I don’t mind circles. Especially if I want to do speed work and stuff. Its also great if you want to avoid hills. For me, my MP3 player and my Garmin keep it from being truly boring. Also I’m with Nancy, the field would be so easy on the feet.


Categories

