Posted by: Karen | March 28, 2006

Barefoot Workout

Before our Blogfather gets all excited about that, let me qualify that I SWAM tonight at my local Y. I’m not a swimmer – I’m a runner, but that Furman plan (and several other plans) I chose to sort of follow for my marathon training emphasizes that if I’m not going to run so much, I should at least cross-train. This weekend my step-dad remarked on how he’d once again taken up swimming, and I thought, “what the heck”.

I don’t swim often for tedious, complicated reasons I won’t bore you with, reasons which will fade away over time, but tonight I found myself with an opportunity to get in the pool, and seized it. To show you how much I don’t swim regularly, note that I showed up at the pool with neither goggles nor swim cap, because I don’t own any. Thank goodness for low-chlorine, salt-water pools.

The Furman plan calls for 30 minute cross-training sessions, but I probably only swam for about 20 minutes. I left my watch in my locker and am blind as a bat without my glasses, so didn’t take note of the clock. Basically I swam until I felt like I’d been working for awhile, took a breather or two, and then swam a little more until I felt done. The pool is 25 meters long, and I did
3 laps of breast stroke
1 lap of side stroke
2 more laps of breast stroke
1 lap of front crawl (nearly died on the way back)
1 lap of something while facing up and doing a frog kick (can’t remember what that’s called)
1 lap of lying on my back doing a flutter kick (this was very relaxing)
2 laps of breast stroke (knees getting tired of frog kick by now)
and
1 more lap of lying on my back doing a flutter kick.

My arms are pretty much useless in the water at the moment unless I’m doing a breast stroke. Ah, someday I’ll look back on this and smile at how far I’ve come, eh? Someday far, far in the future ๐Ÿ™‚

Responses

  1. ha! You got my attention! Good job. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hooray! Now: It is time to buy goggles. Available lots of places online. If you want to splurge you can get them with prescription correction, but a regular pair is fine. Need. Goggles. Swim cap is optional.


Categories

