Posted by: Karen | November 11, 2005

Shots, Shorts & Shed Tears

Ooch
Shot in the Arm:
Yesterday directly after work I picked up Soccer Boy and met Hubby and Little Runner at our local Co-op grocery store, to get our flu shots. Every year the Calgary Health Unit puts on clinics where those who want can go for the shots without a special appointment. We’ve gotten the flu shot a few years in a row now, and I feel it has made a difference in our overall family health. Mostly I consider it a precaution against flu complications, and a way to keep our immune systems strong in case of a bigger pandemic. In general, it makes me feel a little more secure. Specifically right now, though? My arm is a little sore.

My favourite kind of shorts
Chinooking Shorts:
A warm Chinook wind blew through on Wednesday, really warming up things outside, and yesterday I think Calgary reached a high of 13C/55F. Woohoo! So last night after supper I ran out in shorts, a short sleeved tech shirt, and a fleece. In the dark. Very strange to wear those things in the dark – I usually don’t run in the dark in the summer. I ran two books up to return them at the library (about a mile uphill) and then went around my usual Thursday night 5k block. By the time I got to the library I’d wrapped my fleece around my waist. I stopped at the 7-11 on my way home and walked the last km back with a 4 L (1 gallon) jug of milk. How’s that for multi-tasking?

Silver Cross
Shedding Tears:
Today the air is back to feeling minty-fresh cold again, and Little Runner and I paid our respects by watching a Remembrance Special and then the National Remembrance Day Service on CBC. I cried when the Silver Cross Mother laid her wreath. I found the bagpipes, bugles, and gun salutes very poignant, and they helped me think about all of the privileges and rights I enjoy because of those who fought and still protect us.

Categories

