Posted by: Karen | October 8, 2005

I never thought…

It’s pretty amazing the things we never thought we’d do before we became athletes! Bari posted to our Penguin Athletes list on this topic and I couldn’t resist posting my thoughts in response.

I never thought I’d enthusiastically pay more for a new pair of running shoes every 6-8 months than anything else in my wardrobe.

I never thought I’d be fitter than my husband.

I never thought I’d PAY to run in conditions I wouldn’t voluntarily go for a hike in (see some of my extreme-weather race reports from recent winters). I also never would have believed that I’d MISS those crazy XC races in between seasons.

I never thought I would look forward to being able to run for more than ONE hour, much less 2 or 3 or 5…

I never thought I would discuss such intimate personal details about my body (digestive, toenail, chafing related, for examples) with anyone other than my immediate family or doctor.

I’ve always enjoyed reading about personal experiences and writing letters and such, but I really never would have conceived that running slowly would give me such inspiration to write and read even more.

I never thought I’d have so much fun with so many friends in so many places around the world, without even physically going there.

One of the things I’m thankful for is my running, and all the richness and great people it’s brought into my life. What did YOU never think you’d be doing, before you began your quest for fitness?

Responses

  1. I never thought I would have such a great running friend. Great post!

  2. I never thought I’d be able to wear my suits again!

  3. I never thought I’d have such a great time with the Calgarians in Tampa…

  4. I never thought running would define me.

  5. I KNEW I’d never run Tampa Marathon – too hot and SUUNY – much less run it the day after running a 15K AND a 5K!

    I never thought I’d get called to work on a MOVIE because I listed “Runner, 5 marathons” under special skills on my resume!

    I never thought I’d be driving all over Maryland, DC and Virginia to go to races with names like “Too Hot to Trot”, “Dog Days” and “Cicada Crunch”.

    I’d enjoy running in a PACK!


Categories

