Posted by: Karen | September 25, 2005

Personal Duathlon

I didn’t get my bike home on Friday, as planned. I didn’t manage my work time adequately and ended up taking the car back home in a rush to meet Little Runner’s school bus. I didn’t get the bike Saturday either, but did get in an eensy bit of cross-training at the pool. Little Runner went to a swimming birthday party and I went along to make sure she didn’t drown. We had a fun time, and I even got in a few laps of the pool.

Not getting the bike earlier meant I had to get it sometime, so I worked it into today’s long run. The plan called for a run of 12 km. I mapped out a longish route through Silver Springs to my work and ran it there; 7.5 km. I wasn’t feeling particularly energetic, but that part was a net downhill route and I reminded myself it was a Long SLOW run, and eventually found my stride. I made it there in 55 minutes and hopped on the bike.

Once on the bike I remembered that I’d brought along a new gel to try. Gord had handed out free samples of Honey Stinger at the store a few weeks back and of course I had to try the chocolate one. I knew it was made of mostly honey, and I normally LIKE honey, but it tasted terrible with the cocoa mixed in. Blech. I wasn’t enjoying my Raspberry Ultima very much either, but it washed away the honey taste at least. I ate it all anyway, and cycled the short route home.

I was interested in finding out how far my bike computer thought the distance was, but it looks like I need a new battery. The Google Pedometer map calls the short route home 5.2 km and it’s a net uphill route. After riding home I parked the bike, popped into the house for 15 minutes of parenting and a bathroom break and then left for 5 more km of running. I’d stopped my watch for the break at home. My body felt tired, but there was no pain involved, and my heart and lungs found a nice subsistence level of operation that even allowed me to run up the big hill I’ve been running on the usual 5k route.

By the time I got home I’d been working out for 2 hours. I haven’t run or done anything like that for 2 hours since before the Stampede Half in July. Funny, I haven’t felt this tired since then, either.

I quickly scarfed down some leftover salmon and a big glass of milk and went over to pick up Dawn and her granddaughter. We made it to the theatre just in time to watch March of the Penguins. What a miraculous story, well told with fantastic cinematography and music. I would never walk 70 miles to the grocery store just after giving birth. And if I returned from said far-away store with only fish breath after weeks of leaving my hubby with the kiddo, I’d better be bringing beer. Seriously though, it was a beautiful movie and I think penguins are miraculous, amazing creatures. If you are a parent, or even just love someone, it will give you new perspective on life and family connection. Go see it.

I topped off the day by signing the papers to SELL OUR VAN 🙂 Hubby had managed to sell it while I was at the movie. Isn’t he amazing? Oh, and I went out after supper and bought Little Runner’s birthday presents (she turns 10 on Wednesday). I’m getting a little stiff, so have taken some Advil and a Brown Cow (Kahlua in milk) and am heading for my electric blanket.

Responses

  1. I recommend home-made gels flavored to your taste! I haven’t found a commercial gel yet that I really like the taste of, but I DO like my homemade gel! Bonus: costs next to nothing to make!

    http://nancytoby.blogspot.com/2005/09/nancys-homemade-sports-gel-revisited.html

  2. Gack! Chocolate and honey! Blech! Ok, that would be really gross. I’ll skip that one too, but thanks for the being the tasting guinea pig. 😀

  3. i’ve always wondered what the honey gels taste like. i add honey to gatorade on occasion and it’s pretty tasty.

  4. Good job on the run/bike/run! That’s more than I managed to do. Thanks for the movie date, it was great.

  5. What a day! No wonder you’re tired…
    I’ve been making my own gel, too, a la Nancy. Works very well. Basically honey and corn syrup.
    But a Brown Cow, now… that might be the best thing yet.


Categories

