Posted by: Karen | August 8, 2005

Sunday ORN and another Meme

Linda and Yolanda and I ran and walked some big hills yesterday morning. The map I’ve done on this gmap pedometer site says we only did about 9 km, but
a) I’m not sure I remember the route exactly and
b) it doesn’t account for the hills in the ravine that we huffed and puffed
up (and yahooooo’d down)

so I’m counting it as 10 km. We took a long time and enjoyed the sunshine and breezes together.

Nancy tagged me with this meme on training:

Q: What are you training for now?
A: RIGHT now? Um, not sure… Still kind of on that sub-1hour 10k quest, but not sure which race is the next attempt. I’m also seriously thinking of tackling the Harvest Half in October, to keep this distance base up, in preparation for next year’s first marathon in July.
10k PR so far

Q: If you are raising money for a cause, what is it and why is that cause important to you?
A: I’ll quote Nancy on this one: “I’m not fundraising. To be honest, I hate fundraising. ” I give locally to other racers when I’m feeling flush, but rarely fundraise.

Q: What is the furthest distance you’ve run in your training and what is the furthest distance you will run before your event?
A: I’ve run 13 miles in my training so far, and when I’m 10k training I usually keep long runs to 10 miles. Before the marathon I’ll try to work up to at least 2o miles at least once, maybe more. We’ll see next spring.

Q:What is your favorite flavor of gu? (or other sports gel)
A: I’ve only tried Chocolate Hammergel and Chocolate Powergel. Oh, and Krista gave me a taste of her Apple Cinnamon one once. I definitely like the Chocolate Powergel best. Yes, I like it. How often do I get to gobble chocolate icing straight! Mmmmmm.

Q: How many days a week do you run?
A: 3 or 4. Mostly 3. I keep trying for 4 but I don’t think I’m trying very hard yet. Maybe if I register for a 10k race I’ll be more motivated.

Q: Are you injured in any way right now? If so,what are you doing about it?
A: Nope! Feeling just ducky since my scraped knee healed up. I get aches and twangs every so often on long runs, but when I straighten up my form they fade.

Q:What is one item of running clothing/gear (shoes don’t count) you can’t run without?
A: My hat. I hate it when little stray hairs blow across my face. I don’t wear sun glasses so the brim keeps me from squinting. Keeps the rain mostly off my glasses, too. Even in the winter I feel better wearing something on my head, and for XC races, the sillier the hat, the better (though I draw the line at those with jingle bells). I also wear a SmartID tag on my shoe.

Q: Do you have a talisman you are planning on taking to your event? If so, tell us!
A: Most road races I wear my Penguin Brigade Sugoi jersey from the Toronto Penguins World Conference. I never went to the conference, but I bought the shirt anyway, and it races with me in all kinds of weather. I’ll probably wear my pink Penguin Brigade hat, too.I always have a purple heart bead on my running shoe. A purple heart, for the courage to start. I’m not superstitious, but I do believe in symbols as reminders.

Q: Share one thing about yourself we don’t know.
A: Good grief, I don’t hold a whole lot back, eh. You already know I’m a birthmom of an 18 year old darling. How about this: I haven’t cut my hair in over a year. I’ve been thinking I won’t cut it until I break that sub-1 hour 10k, but the longer it takes to reach that goal, the more hair I’m going to have to race with. Maybe if I cut my hair I’ll race faster. Maybe if I race faster I’ll finally go get my hair cut.

I’m going to tag the Kuala Lumpur Penguins with this questionnaire and see what they’re up to. Hey Terence, how’s it going, eh?

Responses

  1. So when’s that next sub-hour attempt going to be!? Plan to race, race the plan!

    Interesting answers! Good tag, too!!!


Categories

