Posted by: Karen | July 1, 2005

Happy Canada Day!

I need to dig up my Canadian Flag and stick it up somewhere. Mark has a cool one, with a catchy song on his blog. I should be able to find it if I clean out the closet and pack at the same time. We take possession of our new house today, and will be moving there over the next week. Nice of everyone to leave town, so I don’t have to worry about traffic!

Definitely check out Jon’s write up on some Canadian chocolate I sent him. WARNING: I’m about to ramble on about chocolate, so if you’ve not eaten yet today, you might want to save this for later.

The maple flavour is a new thing on the chocolate shelves this spring (I’ve seen it at Calgary 7-11 and at Petro-Canada gas stations). I’ve seen the new flavour advertised on Oh Henry’s, Coffee Crisps, and Caramilks. I haven’t tried the Maple Oh Henrys yet, but my son and husband assure me they’re good. I haven’t tried the Maple Coffee Crisp either. I like the regular ones just the way they are, but now I think I really have to try them. Have I seen Maple Kitkats? I can’t remember. The Maple Caramilk, um, well, it didn’t make to Jon, so you’ll have to take my word for it how good it is. 🙂

M&Ms are sold here, all kinds – I like the peanut ones the best. We just seem to like Smarties better. They’re sweeter, so I don’t have them often, but I like the way they melt in my mouth, and they’re great to add to cookies. Smarties usually come in multi-coloured assortments, and an old advertising campaign taught us to “eat the red ones last”.

“When you eat your Smarties,
Do you eat the red ones last?
Do you suck them very slowly,
Or crunch them very fast?
Eat that candy-coated chocolate,
But tell me when I ask,
When you eat your Smarties,
Do you eat the red ones last?”

Say the first line to any Canadian in their 30’s or 40’s and they’ll sing the rest back to you, and then painstakingly explain to you their strategy for eating them. I personally like to sort them into colour groups and then eat them group by group, starting with brown and green, moving on to blue next, then orange & purple with pink for second last. I missed yellow in there. I can’t remember if there’s a yellow…

A while back they introduced the colour blue to the Smarties box with a big fanfare. A recent addition to the family is the Smarties bar, where they’ve chopped them up in a bar shaped a lot like a Jersey Milk. Last year they came out with Sundae and Orange flavoured coatings. I like the orange ones.

Now you understand one of the big reasons I need to run – so I can burn off all those chocolate calories!

Responses

  1. LOL! Oh no! The red M&M’s in the US used to have a carcinogenic dye. They took it out for the longest time. They’re back in now, hopefully with a better dye. Do the Smarties have the thing about the green ones?

    Happy Cananda Day, Karen!

  2. lol, are you changing your name to involve chocolate??? Funny how I was thinking (fantazing) about chocolate not that long ago,,,,,,,,hmmmmmm,,
    Heather

  3. Maplecaramilk??? I’m dyin’ here!!! How good is that? Happy Day:)


Categories

