Posted by: Karen | May 11, 2005

To the Zoo

Last night’s run from Gord’s had us run down the curling club stairs and towards the Zoo. Earlier in the day we’d had quite the blizzard, but later in the afternoon the skies cleared up and by the time we ran at 7 pm the sun was shining and the world smelled fresh. The air was a little cool, but we kept a steady, brisk pace going and were warm in no time.

At the beginning we had to reign in Linda, as she kept running a little too fast for her heartrate, and was setting quite the pace for the rest of us. We went all the way to the far Zoo bridge before crossing over and coming back on the South side of the river, a run of about 8 km. Kelly caught up to us at around the turnaround point, and we had a friendly conversation with some bylaw officers patrolling the paths on the way back. The hill of the Centre St. Bridge was a challenge to me, but I stuck to my rhythm and made it all the way up. Krista chugged on up ahead of me.

It was nice to go East along the river instead of the usual West. Lots of trees unfurling their leaves looked and smelled lovely. Mayday trees are in full bloom, and made my nose run. I splashed in every puddle I found πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. “I splashed in every puddle I found” LOL! πŸ˜€

  2. Darn, Jon stole my comment idea. Glad it was a fun run. I am gonna stick to the stairs thingy for a few weeks. It was a great workout and no aches or pains today, yeah! Tonight I am doing a short run with the little run.

  3. Sounds awesome, congrats on your long run too, some DAY I will blog about that too πŸ™‚ thx Karen for sharing your birthmothers day story with us,, very touching to hear as an adopted child.
    Heather


Categories

