Posted by: Karen | May 4, 2005

Newbie Tuesday

Thank you to those who so kindly commented on my Perspective post this week. I’m glad I can be my real self on this blog thingie, and that I could lean on you all a bit.

It was Penguin “Newbie Night” at Gord’s last night. Gord didn’t actually know this, but I invited some of our local message board lurkers out to a “gentle jog and coffee” at our weekly run, and 4 non-regulars showed up. The weather was absolutely PERFECT for running, and there were tons of people out enjoying the warm air and sunshine.

Our regular penguins felt darn speedy as we looped back for the new ones, and the new ones learned that they are really not alone in their pace (at least, I hope they learned that). In between looping back, Krista and I did a couple of “race you to the bridge/lamp post” speed intervals for fun. It felt good. Had a nice chat and a tall hazelnut non-fat soy latte at the Starbucks afterwards. I think we covered between 5 – 6.5 km along the river, depending on who was looping back for whom.

Categories

