Posted by: Karen | April 5, 2005

Gorgeous Evening

We had a most excellent run from Gord’s store tonight. Someone in our group suggested that we do the long option tonight, and we were feeling pretty good, so we did. We ran down in front of the Ukrainian church, across the river and along the pathway to 14th street, and then back up a big hill with a great view of downtown.

At 10th St. we stopped for a bit of a break and stretched out some tight muscles. My left calf had tightened up and a little stretch was just what it needed. After that I was fine. I felt a little challenged and tired “in a good way” by the end. It was about 10C/50F out with a slight breeze, and the sun just started to set behind us as we returned to the store.

It took Tim and I an hour and seven minutes, and Yolanda, Linda and Krista weren’t far behind. Dawn did a modified version of the medium route with some hills thrown in, and beat us back. I figure we did something close to 10 km. It was pretty close, anyway. Close enough to round up if it wasn’t 🙂

Responses

  1. But what about the post-run BEER? 😉 Sounds like a fun run!

  2. Hah! The BEER comes at the Beer n’ Pizza run this Saturday evening. Some of us are running around the reservoir (16k) and others are going shorter distances.

  3. Sounds like a great run. i have never run with a group before but you make it sound like such fun.

    BTW – I love the photo of you on your front page, most runners look like they are in pain when running (me included) but you look like your loving it!

  4. I like running with a group. It has taken quite some time to find/recruit/develop a group that is willing to come out to runs at my pace, but I’ve been running with this little core group for almost 2 years now. I find that when someone is there every week expecting me to show up and run with them, I train more regularly on the other days, too, and it’s really helped me make progress.

    Thanks for the compliment on the pic. I often look like I’m in pain when I’m running, too, but that day I was egging on a fellow new trail racer to the finish. She whipped around me just at that moment and it was quite fun.

    Before I was a runner I used to think it was a lonely sport. It’s not always so!

  5. Good run, Karen (sorry so late to comment). I’ve had the same problem recently with calves tightening up after I stop, and I wonder if its related to the temps climbing. Maybe dehydration?

  6. It’s a great time of year to run and you took full advantage. Makes us all feel good.


Categories

