Posted by: Karen | March 12, 2005

A Little Bit of Tension Goes a Long Long Way

Clint Black

No one’s gonna jerk me around
Once I get my feet on the ground
I’m gonna hit it running, gonna call it day
Y’see a little bit of tension goes a long long wa-a-ay

The boss man has got mine in a sling
but I’ll be swingin’ when I loosen up my strings

Every night when the sun goes down
you won’t find me hangin’ around
I’m in locomotion like a rock out on a ro-oll
I’m nobody’s puppet
I’m out of contro-o-ol

More boss man lyrics and a lethal base line …

… But I’ll be swingin’ when I loosen up my strings

Clint Black – Loosen Up My Strings

This song has Attitude. It’s bluesy and has a great beat if you need to play something obnoxiously loud in an effort to feel better. It’s about work, but I’m applying it to my general irritated state at the moment, and what I’m going to do about it.

I’m trying not to get ticked off at the St. Patrick’s Day race, that I’m running tomorrow, but it’s getting under my skin. Two years ago I tried to volunteer, e-mailed the RD, but didn’t make it on the list. Volunteered at the finish line anyway, was not told about the volunteer party that night, and was only acknowledged 3 weeks later. Last year I volunteered, made sure I was on the list early, and they’d run out of volunteer shirts by race morning. Grrr. This year I figured I might as well race it. Registered three weeks ago at my local store – paid cash. Got called back by the store where I registered, seems they don’t take cash, must be cheque. I detoured on my long run two weeks ago to give them a cheque.

Today I went to pick up my package and I wasn’t on the list. I have my receipt from the store, and the volunteers also took my word for it that I paid, but I’m not on the flipping list! Arrggh. Now I need to see if they cashed my cheque.

Yeah, so I had tight calves the other day – not gonna phase me. So it snowed this morning and there’s gale force winds out there – not gonna bother me. I have a great number, 1555, a cool new celtic long sleeved t-shirt, and a beer ticket. I’m going to kick butt tomorrow.

No one’s gonna jerk me around
Once I get my feet on the ground
I’m gonna hit it running, gonna call it day
Y’see a little bit of tension goes a long long wa-a-ay…

Strings oughta be good and loose by about mile 3.

Responses

  1. Awwwwwwwwww. You need a hug. Hope I can find you before the race to give you one for luck. I know you will do great. I have number 153. See you at the finish line.

  2. You are SO going to kick butt tomorrow! Have a great race and turn that frustration into PURE RAW SPEED!! 🙂

  3. Kick some serious butt this AM, Karen!!!

  4. Yep, it’s time to kick butt! Do well!


Categories

