Posted by: Karen | February 17, 2005

Back to the Usual

Tuesday night Dawn and I showed up at Gord’s and for the usual run. Dawn headed out on her own and Yolanda, Linda, Krista and I went over 14th St. and back up Centre. We took it fairly easy on the way out and then on the way back Linda and I picked up the pace for a couple of blocks for fun. Krista and Yolanda weren’t far behind, and we all went up the bridge together. Krista blasted steadily past me up the last hill.

Tonight I watched Survivor at 6 pm on an Eastern channel on the Satellite so I could go out running later. I hardly noticed the first km as I played over parts of the show in my head, going over my impressions of this season’s players. I did a tempo run of about 7 km total, with about 2 km of walking in recovery mode. It felt good to run a little faster than usual for a while, but my legs were pretty tired by the time I got home.

I’m looking forward to the Weaselhead 8k XC this Saturday, even if it’s going to feel like “real winter” (forecast is for -10C/14F). This is one of my favourite trails in Calgary. We follow something called the “Rabbit Trail”, which is a heavily treed, single-track, out and back roller coaster path alongside the frozen reservoir. It is quite a joy for the first half, as the little “dippity do” hills lead you down and down, and you try not to think about having to come all the way back UP to finish. It’s hard, but pretty, and there’s always a welcoming fire going back at the sailing club afterwards.

Then on Sunday I’m going snowshoeing with the family again, in lieu of my extra weekend run.

What are YOU doing this weekend?

Responses

  1. wow, that sounds like a fun race! and how can you NOT enjoy a race called ‘weaselhead’?! have fun and enjoy the snowshoeing!

  2. Good luck in the race, Karen! 🙂

    No racing for me this weekend. I was planning on a 5K in Detroit but I need to get well all the way first. An easy run on the roads, that’s it. Looking forward to races next month.

  3. I’m going to start my long runs for the Burnco. Woohoo!!

  4. Hope that you’re having a good weekend. How did your race go? I’m hoping to do a race next weekend. I need to!


Categories

