Posted by: Karen | January 28, 2005

Morning Run

That Subject Title might look pretty normal for most folks, but I’m an evening runner. I only run early in the summer when it’s hot during the day, and even then I mostly run in the evening. Even on long-run weekends I rarely get out before 11 am. I’m an early riser, I’m just not regularly an early runner.

Soccer Boy’s practice was moved to last night (a usual running night) instead of tonight, and I dropped him off and did a little shopping for my trip before bringing him home again. Evening run shot. I thought of TxSkatemom’s early morning runs before work, and hauled my butt out of bed to do the same.

It was wierd. I mean, I’m used to running in the dark, but I hadn’t even had breakfast yet. I ran a mile to and from my usual Thursday hill, and down and up it twice. There was a fair amount of ice melted and re-frozen over the sidewalk on the hill, so I ended up running a lot on the melted-re-frozen ice that had tons of pea gravel on it, covering the grassy strip between the sidewalk and the road. It was good for XC training, eh?

I even had a pretty good clip going on the way back. I was so absorbed with my own rhythm that I didn’t even hear another runner approaching from behind me. I totally freaked out when I heard a big deep voice cheerily say “Good morning” !! Talk about increasing the heart rate! I did manage to say hi back and “nice morning for a run” before turning off towards home. I was glad he’d said something – I would have freaked out even more if he’d just passed me without me knowing he was there.

Time to get on with the rest of the day. Happy Friday!

Responses

  1. yeppers, I am all about the mornings. Otherwise, it just gets too complicated. Like today, I have to run two errands at lunch, then a work thing afterward. If I didn’t do it first thing, it wouldn’t happen, and the streak wouldn’t be at 27 days, BABY!!

  2. Morning runs. Ugh. My long runs are in the morning but its hard to get out of bed. Still haven’t gotten up early enough to run in the dark. Too chicken anyway. 🙂

  3. I’ve been debating a morning run. Otherwise next Sunday will be a real shock to the system…lol. Maybe Sunday….

  4. I’ve always been a morning runner, but I must admit the last few weeks have been difficult with the cold. I just run out of energy at night, so if I don’t go in the morning, I tend to not go. Until it gets warmer, though, I’m going to have to force myself:)

  5. I keep hearing good things about morning runs. I have gotten out for 9 or 10 AM runs on summer weekends, once even 7 AM. But the idea of running before work (5 or 5:30 AM), under any circumstances, kind of makes me cranky.

    Good for you though – getting the run in is what counts!!

  6. I don’t like morning runs either and always worry what I’ll feel like when I actually have to.


Categories

